Wage and Hour Law
Encino Wage and Hour Law Attorneys
If you are employed in the Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, or San Diego area, you are entitled to certain rights, protections, and benefits under the law. Kingsley & Kingsley strives to make sure that all workers are treated fairly and receive all of the wages and benefits to which they are entitled. Speak with one of our Encino wage and hour lawyers if you believe you are not receiving the wages and benefits you deserve.
Minimum wage and overtime
Both the federal government and the state of California set a minimum wage that must be paid to employees. Both the federal minimum wage and the California minimum wage are increasing.
California’s state minimum wage:
- 2018: $11/hr. (businesses with 26 or more employees); $10.50/hr. (businesses with 25 or fewer employees)
- 2019: $12 per hour for businesses with 26 or more employees; $11.00/ hr. (businesses with 25 or fewer employees)
- 2020: $13 an hour for businesses with 26 or more employees; $12.00/hr. (businesses with 25 or fewer employees)
In California, note that the minimum wage rate may be higher in your locality; there are several localities with minimum wage rates that differ the state minimum wage rate (they have higher minimum wage rates).
In addition to a minimum wage, both the federal government and the state of California mandate a maximum number of hours that may be worked in a week, and both systems mandate the payment of overtime for hours worked over that maximum. California law goes above and beyond federal law with respect to both minimum wage and maximum hour law, and it mandates certain rest periods and meal breaks that are not required by the federal government.
Rest and meal breaks
California requires employers to permit nonexempt employees to take a meal break as close to the middle of the work shift as possible. Employees also are entitled to 10 minutes of rest for each four-hour work period or half shift, which is a two- to four-hour period. A rest period is counted as time worked, and the employer must pay the employee for that time. Since employees are paid for the rest periods, employers can require that they stay on the premises.
The rest period begins when you reach the designated rest area adjacent to where you are working. An employer is required to provide suitable resting places that are separate from bathroom facilities.
If an employer fails to provide you with a rest period in accordance with California law, the employer has to pay you for one additional hour of work at your regular rate for each workday—not rest period—that you were denied.
Other tasks that an employer requires of you can entitle you to additional compensation. For instance, employees who are required to perform any tasks before clocking in or after clocking out are entitled to compensation. This includes changing into or out of a uniform, running errands, or picking up supplies. Also, employees who are required to report to work but are then sent home are entitled to be paid for at least half a shift, up to four hours but not less than two hours.
If you believe that you are being denied your rights or are not being fully compensated for the work you are doing, speak to a Kingsley & Kingsley wage attorney, who may be able to help you recover wages or payment for missed rest periods.
Contact us about your wage and hour claim
Whether you are paid on an hourly, salary, or commission basis—or whether you are a salesperson, banking employee, factory worker, or housekeeper working in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Sacramento, or San Diego—an Encino wage attorney at Kingsley & Kingsley can help you collect unpaid wages or seek recourse for unfair treatment. Contact us today.